Observations on Mississippi.

Having just crossed the border from Mississippi into Louisiana and pulled into one of the myriad of travel plazas that litter the Eisenhower Interstate System I’m taking a short break before the final 50 or so miles to my ultimate destination, New Orleans.

Mississippi is the only state that I did not stop in, even just for a moment.  My reasoning for this is that I saw nothing compelling to stop for.  The landscape is flat, featureless and for a lot of it devoid of life.  Curiously I encountered a number of troopers laying in wait on the median but the V1 remained completely silent.  Perhaps they are a LIDAR state or perhaps they just couldn’t be bothered to do any police work today, either way I remained unmolested and made my way through the state at a reasonable pace.

It seems that when the citizens of Mississippi are done with their cars they just discard them at the side of the road.  I only had just over a hundred miles to cover but during that time I saw three Pontiac Grand Prixs, two Mercury Cougars (the 90s Mondeo based one rather than anything more exotic) a lone Crown Vic that faked me into thinking it was a cop car, if it was then the budget situation in this state is more dire than I thought possible and finally a pair of Nissan Maxima twins one a more upmarket Infiniti variant.

The remains of my barbecue meal from Knoxville is to provide lunch proving that good cue only gets better with time.  I had an interesting trip through Alabama which got broken in two by a small run in with the state police that could have got so much worse.  Once I’ve calmed down about the experience and can write without resorting to expletive and hyperbole, I’ll post. 

Meanwhile it’s Nawlins or bust.

About tony2x

I'm a burgeoning technology executive living and working in the beautiful Bay Area of Northern California. My life revolves around three things: technology, food and transportation and it is here we will be examining all of those in varying amounts of detail and vitriol.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

