Observations on the other New York.

I have been to New York City many many times but have spent very little time outside of the sprawling metropolis that is the Big Apple.  My brother lives in suburban New York in a charming town called Tarrytown.  This place is so different from my home back in California that it could be a different country, the people look and sound different, less polished, more gritty, which in my view is a good thing.  They are more straightforward too and in a lot of ways friendlier.

I’ve spent the last few days in the company of friends, old and new and of course my family.  It is really nice to be in the same country as my brother again even if the journey here is almost half way to London.  I can drive here which I can’t do to the UK without an amphibious vehicle.

The trip back starts today.  The next major destination is New Orleans which I hope to reach by Wednesday and I’m planning a detour to DC today for some sightseeing and then overnighting in Roanoke, Virginia.  I must remember to pack the Valentine One in the glovebox as they are illegal in the great state of Virginia and the cops have radar detector detectors.

Then I’ll take a leisurely drive down south to spend a couple of days in Nawlins.  I’m on a pretty restrictive diet at the moment thanks to some ongoing stomach issues of which I won’t bore you with the details so that limits the amount of southern food that I can consume but I fully intend to push the envelope as much as I can and experience the degustory pleasures that the south has to offer.

Any suggestions welcome.

 

About tony2x

I'm a burgeoning technology executive living and working in the beautiful Bay Area of Northern California. My life revolves around three things: technology, food and transportation and it is here we will be examining all of those in varying amounts of detail and vitriol.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

