Observations on Nebraska.

I didn’t intend on posting about each state as I travel through them but each one so far has yielded something noteworthy.  Nebraska is no exception.  Apart from my encounter with the local vehicle recovery industry; I saw a number of couples wearing full length skirts and little bonnets which reminded me of the sister wives on the compound on the excellent HBO series Big Love. 

Nebraska seems like the sort of place where polygamy would pass as something quite normal but they had a different look, almost Amish-like.  I felt the fact one of the couples had pulled into the McDonald’s drive thru in a Dodge Caravan meant this was unlikely unless they were a modernist Amish sect who had eschewed the pony and cart for a different kind of horsepower.

Notably unremarkable would be my lasting memory of this state.

About tony2x

I'm a burgeoning technology executive living and working in the beautiful Bay Area of Northern California. My life revolves around three things: technology, food and transportation and it is here we will be examining all of those in varying amounts of detail and vitriol.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Observations on Nebraska.

  1. June Pellowski says:

    Just had to comment on Nebraska since I drove through quite a bit of it last summer–alone. I actually thought it was a little edgy in a wildly scruffy sort of way. I passed 100,000 miles on my car while there. Most importantly, I drove through Red Cloud, NE, home of one of my favorite American authors, Willa Cather. Now I know why she left.

Leave a Reply

