Tech Notes

I have quite a lot of technology with me on this trip.  This is the first trip I’ve taken without an Intel powered machine somewhere about my person, yessir this is an exclusively ARM powered excursion.

I have my Surface, iPad and Lumia 920 with the Nokia providing hotspot service for my Surface, a surprisingly useable solution.  The iPad is a LTE model but I recently moved to the AT&T shared data plan so it is all coming from a single data pool.

Protecting me during the drive is the excellent Valentine One radar detector making me aware of future stalking scenarios and making sure I don’t end up being told what a purty mouth I have by a small town Sheriff.

AT&T coverage is good but 3G eludes us outside of major metropolitan areas and I haven’t seen the LTE indication appear on my phone since leaving the Bay Area.

So far the Windows RT powered Surface is doing a brilliant job.  The iPad is only along for the ride because of a couple of apps and my cache of audiobooks.  It will take a 4G equipped Surface to convince me to lose the Apple device.

About tony2x

I'm a burgeoning technology executive living and working in the beautiful Bay Area of Northern California. My life revolves around three things: technology, food and transportation and it is here we will be examining all of those in varying amounts of detail and vitriol.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

