RIP Manfred (and meet Otto).

It is with great sadness that I inform you all of the passing of Manfred.  This weekend, whilst out shopping I found him mortally wounded standing in a pool of his own engine oil.

Whilst earlier than I had hoped, his passing came at an advantageous time. I was about to embark upon a major suspension overhaul ready for the winter and put a fresh set of tyres on.  This would have been a significant expense and had the engine problem waited a few days to manifest itself I’d probably be posting about the engine swap plans.

I managed to get the car to my mechanic who agreed to take a look and see whether it was terminal or not.  Whilst I was waiting for the prognosis I wandered around the area and chanced upon the local BMW dealership.  They had a lease return 2008 535xi Touring in Platinum Grey with lots and lots of options.  They agreed to take my poorly 330 in as part-ex and after some swift but successful negotiations I netted a good deal on a car that still had a good amount of the factory warranty to run.  His name is Otto and there is not a spot of rust on him anywhere.

Otto - 2008 535xiT

So this chapter may be closing and on reflection in the short time we were together we got into some adventures and I have some lasting memories, not least the antics described on this blog.  Starting with the cross country dash, we covered over 20,000 mostly happy miles together.  I had hoped we would have had longer together but it was not to be.  Perhaps he’ll find himself a new owner who has the time, energy and frankly the skill to restore him to his former glory but I fear his fate is the scrap-yard.

RIP Manfred
Please take a moment of silence in memoriam of Manfred, RIP xi.

About tony2x

I'm a burgeoning technology executive living and working in the beautiful Bay Area of Northern California. My life revolves around three things: technology, food and transportation and it is here we will be examining all of those in varying amounts of detail and vitriol.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

