A slightly grubby bill of health.

This was the day I was secretly dreading.  I had booked the car in for a service and inspection at my local trusted mechanic and spent most of the morning worrying about any massive bills that lurked inside my hypermileage BMW.  Sokol called me back around 11.30am with good news, apart from some cracked belts and tensioners all it really needed was a damn good service.  He wasn’t worried about the oil consumption, nor was he concerned about the slightly snatchy drivetrain as apparently all the xis are like that. 

The bad news is that he was unable to source the sunroof parts or even manually coax it into a fully closed position.  I’m going to take the car back in the new year but as the car is garaged at night it should stay relatively dry.  I also got a laundry list of less critical repairs to consider, some of which I can easily do myself but nothing out of the ordinary for a car of this mileage.  Meanwhile I’m going to search the interwebs for a replacement sunroof assembly as I fear those parts are going to be pricey!

When I bought this car my intention was to run it completely into the ground, that means I have to be creative with the maintenance and not write the car off just because it needs a four figure sum spending on it.  Once I move into my permanent home I hope to be able to do the routine maintenance myself.  Failing an engine or transmission failure I’m keeping this car for the long haul. 

Not a bad day in all, the final cost was just over a grand and the service will see me through another 30,000 miles before any more major maintenance is required. 

I hope.

About tony2x

I'm a burgeoning technology executive living and working in the beautiful Bay Area of Northern California. My life revolves around three things: technology, food and transportation and it is here we will be examining all of those in varying amounts of detail and vitriol.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

