Zero hour approaches.

It’s my last night in Hong Kong and I’m being a lightweight safely tucked up in my hotel room trying to convince my television to show me something other than the Italian channel.  Whilst Honkers might be seen as inhospitable towards the motor car there are certainly enough people here with sufficient disposable cash that Ferraris and Lambos have become as common a sight as your mum’s Ford Focus.  Just today I saw a GT3 RS complete with rollcage and an all black (including the headlights) Murcielago while waiting for the light bus!  I wonder if they ever get the things out of second gear?

Come tomorrow I have 24 hours in the friendly skies flying HKG-SFO-ORD where I meet up with fake Captain Slow for our final leg to PHL and then the fun can begin.  My hopes of an early start have been dashed because I have to insure the car and my insurance agent is three hours behind me and won’t get into work until 11.30am EST.  The upside is that I have plenty of time to prod and poke our chariot making noises like I know what I’m doing before parting with the envelope full of cash that is currently precariously sitting in my carry on.  This is not an invitation to mug me on the way to the airport though, I will bite if provoked.

Jerry will be arriving with a carry on full of technology:

Like a rubbish version of Alex Roy's Polizei 144 setup

We have a Valentine One, the Rolls Royce of radar detectors to keep smokey off my arse, a FlipHD video camera to make amusing and witty video posts from the road and one of those fancy little widgets that turns your car into a WiFi hotspot.  It can’t quite match the arsenal that Alex Roy’s Team Polizei is packing but we’re not looking to do it in 32 hours either!  In fact we’re more like Team Polizei Community Support Officer!

This is our weak substitution for a 40-strong production team so if you were expecting Emmy-award winning stuff, move on, this is going to be more like being subjected to Uncle Bernard’s holiday videos at Christmas.

I’ve reached my limit of Italian television so it is bedtime.  See you on the other side.

About tony2x

I'm a burgeoning technology executive living and working in the beautiful Bay Area of Northern California. My life revolves around three things: technology, food and transportation and it is here we will be examining all of those in varying amounts of detail and vitriol.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

