And so it begins.

BreakfastI’m sitting at HKG airport waiting for the first leg in what is going to be a gargantuan travel effort over the next few days.  I have a total of 12911 miles to cover by air and land and I know that the first 9000 or so will be the least pleasant.  A mostly uneventful morning apart from a stand-off on a moving walkway trying to convince a family of six that they should let me pass.  After some exasperated honking noises from the father and a suggestion that if I wanted to walk there was a perfectly good piece of floor I made it through without too many bruises only to take down an entire display of rather expensive looking Chinese tea in the duty free shop with my carry on.  Now I’m easing the pain a little with a breakfast of shui mai, barbecued pork bun, fried rice and a stiff G&T in the Thai Airways lounge being soothed by gentle music and waited on by delightful Thai ladies. Right now if you offered me plane ticket to Phuket and a week in a 5 star resort I’d probably take it as 13 hours on United Airlines awaits me. 

First day location 

The map above shows the current location of each of the participants in this challenge.  The bus, my dog and me are all in Hong Kong and Jerry is baking away in Seattle.  By the time I reach SFO he should be in the air en route to PHL and we rendevous at O’Hare.

I have a boarding pass for economy and am anxiously awaiting to see if my upgrade clears and 69F magically becomes 12A.  If not I will load up on more free booze, plenty of Top Gear and a sleeping pill.  Actually, I’ll likely end up doing exactly the same thing wherever I end up sitting.

About tony2x

I'm a burgeoning technology executive living and working in the beautiful Bay Area of Northern California. My life revolves around three things: technology, food and transportation and it is here we will be examining all of those in varying amounts of detail and vitriol.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

