The path of most resistance.

You made it this far so you probably want to know what this is all about? Allow me to introduce myself: My name is Tony and I am currently in Hong Kong.  When I learned recently that I was to be returning back to California in December the first thing that entered my head was getting a car again. 

Owning a car here is not good for the wallet or blood pressure.  Cars are expensive to own and run and generally spend an unfeasible amount of time stuck in traffic or dodging myopic taxi drivers and because of this I stuck with two wheels rather than four.

I decided that I wanted an E46 BMW of some kind with all-wheel drive and with a month to go before my return I did some research.  That research turned into a purchase, sight unseen of a 330xi with nearly 200,000 miles on the clock from a very nice Russian gentleman in Philadelphia.

After a few email exchanges and plenty of pictures I took a brave pill and stumped up a $500 deposit and agreed to purchase the car.

Stupid?
Foolhardy?
Both?
Only time will tell.

With the transport sorted, the only remaining question is how to get it home.  I could of course take the easy route and have the vehicle shipped but where’s the fun in that?  No, the only way of getting this car home was to drive it!

Over the next few days I’ll introduce the car, the drivers and most importantly the CHALLENGE.  Yes, we are channeling the three men that love to cock about in cars and turn this into a Top Gear style challenge.

The challenge is simple: Can a car beat a UPS Ground package from Philadelphia to San Francisco?UPS Ground delivery times  UPS reckons it’ll take four days to deliver our package and I reckon the car can do it in less.  The journey is between 2800 and 3500 miles depending on the route and with it being early December the possibility of encountering inclement weather is high.

Weather isn’t our only problem.  Will the car expire in a cloud of oil and steam and leave us stranded in the middle-fuzzies?  Will we be able to avoid the attention of the boys in blue and still beat the package home?  Will being locked in an enclosed space with one of my dearest friends for four days lead to arguments and disaster?  Will we overdose ourselves on Red Bull, Jack in the Box and Subway and expired in a caffienated frenzy as our arteries close up?

The only way to find out is to follow along with us.  We’ll be liveblogging the whole journey and encourage all 19 people that will end up reading this to track our progress as we try to beat the men and women in brown at what they do best.

About tony2x

I'm a burgeoning technology executive living and working in the beautiful Bay Area of Northern California. My life revolves around three things: technology, food and transportation and it is here we will be examining all of those in varying amounts of detail and vitriol.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The path of most resistance.

  1. Can’t wait to see how this goes…!

  2. Julie P says:

    Maybe you should check out the biggest ball of yarn or Carhenge on your way across country. It might get in the way of you beating the women and men in brown though.

  3. thedriverz says:

    Those both might be a little bit off route but I understand that Foamhenge is in Virginia where we will be demonstrating Christian motoring as they lynch speeders and radar detectors are very illegal there so a break from the monotony of the Interstate might be what we need!

  4. Will says:

    hah! classic styling! I like it! well done Bones! I’ll be glued!

Leave a Reply

