The machine.

Now unlike our television counterparts, we don’t have the world’s automotive test fleet at our disposal, nor thankfully do we have any pre-imposed budget.  The car that will be taking us coast to coast will be my daily driver.  My criteria for picking the car was it had to be cheap (under $10k), AWD (for those winter trips to Tahoe), fast (200hp minimum), imported (sorry US car fans!) nicely kitted out (leather, AC, electric thingies) and manual transmission.  Should be easy enough, right?

I came up with a shortlist :-

  • Audi A4 Quattro
  • BMW 3 series (xi)
  • Subaru Legacy GT

Before heading to Hong Kong I ran a Legacy wagon, it was the first of the last shape, a totally unmolested 2005 model year manual transmission wagon with all the toys.  I loved that car but it was clear that a decent one was out of my price range. 

I couldn’t bring myself to even contemplate an Audi because I’d immediately be shot down as a hypocrite by Audi driving friends as for many years I’d mercilessly mock anyone for driving a jumped up Volkswagen.  Also, $10k would not get me anywhere near a decent one that would last the 3-4 years of hard labour it’d need to serve after the road trip so that was quickly ruled out. 

So that just left the 3 series.  I love BMWs, I’ve had many of them but never before a 3.  I have reasonably strong opinions about most things but when it comes to cars the opinions become fact. Irrefutable and incontrovertible fact.  I’ve frequently doled out a serious amount of ire and ridicule at people who bought a 3-series.  Cracks such as “Did they turn you down for finance on the 5 series?” came out thick and fast and I knew that unless I found a trump card I’d lay myself wide open to all kinds of abuse.  Thankfully I already had a cast iron get out of jail free card for in late 2008 the wise, all-knowing, encyclopaedia of cars and purveyor of the world’s finest hyperbole, Jeremy Clarkson handed it to me on a plate. 

Cocks now drive Audis, not BMWs. 

Phew. 

I’d previously driven a friend’s ’04 325xi and had liked it a lot but it was just too slow, so I upped the ante to a 330xi and started my search.  Finding a decent one for under $10k was proving a challenge.  Most of the cars I’d seen at this price point were unnecessarily festooned with aftermarket wheels and body jewellry or had questionable history for their age.

A lazy evening perusing eBay after a couple of gin and tonics led to a flurry of email exchanges with a man called Tim, some high resolution pictures convinced me that buying a car from 8,000 miles away, sight unseen was a great idea.  A couple of clicks later and a $500 deposit and the car was mine for the princely sum of $8,000. 

My soon to be BMW 330xiThe car itself is a 2003 BMW 330xi .  It carried the exact specification I was after.  Finished in Steel Grey and black leather with both Sport and Premium packages and the all too essential manual gearbox.  It missed out being a six speeder by a few months as this was introduced in the 2003.5MY.

So why so cheap?  Well the mileage is somewhat intergalactic having covered 189,000 miles in it’s short life.  I am not scared of high mileage BMWs as I once owned a 525i some years ago that came to me with 440k under its belt and went onto over half a million miles with no real dramatics or financial ruin.  The current owner of the car has his own European car repair business and as this was his personal car, with a full BMW service history until 2008 I considered it a safe bet.

Fingers crossed I’ve bought a good-un or this will be the shortest road trip blog in existence.  Flew to Philly, didn’t buy a car, flew back to San Francisco.  Doesn’t sound very exciting does it?

About tony2x

I'm a burgeoning technology executive living and working in the beautiful Bay Area of Northern California. My life revolves around three things: technology, food and transportation and it is here we will be examining all of those in varying amounts of detail and vitriol.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The machine.

  1. Pingback: The men. | The Short Way Across

Leave a Reply

